Rock on dude. 


Rock on dude. 


A Dancing Shell by Wild Nothing

c/o perfectmidnightworld:

Empty State (Out 5.14.13 via Captured Tracks)

Well, this is a pleasant surprise. Less than a year after releasing the lovely, “Nocturne”, Jack Tatum has once again stepped out as Wild Nothing to release new music, this time in the form of a 7 track EP entitled, “Empty State”. Further good news, is that the first taste of the forthcoming release is already on the internet for everyone to enjoy. “A Dancing Shell” is the first single, and you will notice almost immediately that we’re in a different zone here than previous Wild Nothing releases. The new track is loaded with swirling, late night synths that give off a generally more relaxed and free form atmosphere. The dreamy jangle pop guitars that have guided many of the artist’s finest cuts are still there, but they’re sharing stage with 80’s tinged electro pop textures and even something resembling a distorted bit of sax (perhaps inspired by his recent trip to Miami’s neon hued nights, or his renewed admiration for Brian Eno and David Bowie). It all makes for an exciting listen and a warm weather sound that is just in time to soundtrack those summer night parties. 


Cut You by Cloud Nothings
A Take Away Show
Brighton Pier, Brighton, UK


489 plays


There’s no real reason for this title, other than I think black coffee and these songs are really good. That and, Twin Peaks is awesome and I love Agent Cooper’s opinions on the hot beverage.

5 to 9 by FIDLAR
Next Stop by Bleached
Vomit Lips by Candy Paint
I Was Going to Shave My Beard, But I Took a Nap Instead by Sports Bar
Teenage Clothes by Heathers
Badillac by Pangea
The Spell by Bennio Qwerty
Cooking Up Something Good by Mac DeMarco
Shuggie by Foxygen
Shells by Spectral Park
Fly by Opossom
Faded In the Morning by Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Girl by Mark Aubert
Watching Her (Make Me Feel) by T.E.A.M.S.
Fear & Fever by Ghost Eyes
Close 2 Me by Giraffage
Aurora I by Sunless ‘97
Grind by Les Sins
Ash Tree Lane by MS MR
The Fall by Rhye
Once Around the House by High Highs
Bayonet by Campfires
Here We Go Again by Christoper Owens

Stream above or download directly (right-click & save as)

This mix is about exposure, not file sharing. Time was taken to select and order these tracks. If you like what you hear, these artists can probably use your support to keep making music. Click through to the links and read about them, listen to more of their material, and maybe even purchase something from them. That’s the whole point, after all. 

For past sounds, check out the GFYE mixtape archive.


I Wish You Knew Jim Morrison by Heroes for Sale
directed by Thunderlips


17-year-old Kiwi rockers Fraser Hunter and Adison Whitley go literally balls out on this new video by New Zealand directing duo Thunderlips. Calling it a ‘romp’ would be a bit of an understatement - nudity abounds, cock socks, babies, pillow fights. C’mon. Get into it. Jeff the Brotherhood would be proud. You reading this, boys?

Find this track and more on their Bndcmp.



Margin by Benoît Pioulard
from Hymnal

You can stream the full album on SoundCloud and order via kranky.


Demon to Lean On by Wavves
directed by BLACK // DOCTOR

From Afraid of Heights due 3/26.


Dancing On My Own (Robyn cover) by Real Magic

from Real Magic’s debut, Deep Breathing, out tomorrow via Hug Records.

[track via PRTLS.]


Walk Looking Up by Jimmy Morris


I’ve only done this one other time and it feels incredibly weird and selfish… But, whatever. In my spare time I like to play with sounds, nothing serious just like to find a groove, explore and see where it goes. It allows me to see and appreciate music that I find differently, how it’s structured, the technical aspects, the thought process etc etc.

So one late night I made this hypnotic exploration based off an array of slices from a song I heard on Mad Men. Making music late at night alone allows you to stumble upon unintentionally ideas that you might not otherwise find when your senses are being overwhelmed by the world around you.



The Game is Changing Us by Hands

Following up last year’s Massive Context EP (Small Plates) Hands’ debut LP, Synesthesia, is due out via Kill Rock Stars on April 30. If this freshly released track and earlier single “Trouble” are any indication, the LA quartet have leaned a bit more upbeat; they simultaneously sound more focused yet still complex.

If you’ll be in Austin next week, they’re playing at least 7 shows at SXSW. Back in Los Angeles come April, you can catch them for free every Monday night at The Echo.


1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10